Suzy & Spice

a pinch of this, a dash of that

Chili weather

Posted by Suzy Taylor Oakley on November 20, 2008

Dear Teri,

Just for you, here’s the chili recipe I promised the other day. I know you’ve been waiting for it.

I started with Chef Jeff’s recipe and made a few modifications, and I think it’s just a little better than the original.

It’s so quick and easy to make, and the best part is that you dirty up just one pan (plus your knife and cutting board, and maybe your garlic press, if you use one – I do). Who can beat that at cleanup time?

Or maybe the best part is that it’s made with ground turkey instead of ground beef yet still is extremely flavorful, even when you use the leanest turkey you can find.

Spicy Turkey Chili
Suzy’s version

3 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
1½ pounds lean ground turkey
1 to 1½ cups yellow onions, diced
½ cup red bell pepper, diced
8-12 cloves garlic, minced
2 Tbsp. chili powder
1 Tbsp. ground cumin
1 tsp. salt
¼ teaspoon freshly ground pepper
1 medium tomato, diced, and 1 can mild diced tomatoes with green chilies (such as Rotel) OR 2 cans Rotel
1 small can tomato paste
1 can black beans, undrained (mash with a fork or leave whole)
1 teaspoon sugar
2 cups organic chicken broth (or more, depending on how thick you like it)
1 cup grated smoked Cheddar cheese (optional) (plain Cheddar is great, too)
1 bunch scallions, chopped (optional)

Heat 1 tablespoon of oil in medium pot with heavy bottom over medium-high heat. Add meat and stir with wooden spoon to break up. Cook, stirring, until meat is browned and cooked through, 8-10 minutes.

Transfer meat to strainer to drain.

Set pot over medium-high heat. Add remaining 2 Tbsp. oil, onions, bell peppers and garlic. Cook 6-8 minutes. Return turkey to pot and mix well.

Add chili powder, cumin, salt and pepper and cook, stirring about 2 minutes. Add tomatoes, tomato paste, sugar, beans and broth. Stir well and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer, uncovered, about 30 minutes. Taste for flavor and add salt and pepper if needed. Keep warm on stove until ready to serve.

Serve topped with cheese and scallions. Chef Jeff says cornbread goes great with this chili. Click here for his original chili recipe (I also tried his S’more Bread Pudding. It was a little runny, so I’ll have to keep trying).

2 Responses to “Chili weather”

  1. Peregrine said

    I would like to say, as a completely unbiased and neutral observer, that I’ve had this chili and it TOTALLY ROCKS!!!!!

  2. teri said

    Well, as for the garlic press,I’ll share a tip with you that I have. When I buy ground meat (burger, turkey, whatever) I buy the HUGE family pack and onions and garlic. Since I don’t like biting into chunks of onion or garlic, I put them into the food processor then brown up the meat all at once with the o&g, then I freeze the already cooked meat. Then when I’m ready to make chili, tacos, whatever, I’m that far ahead of the game. I can grab it right out of the freezer and zap in the micro if there’s no time to thaw.

Leave a Reply

 
