Suzy & Spice

a pinch of this, a dash of that

Why wee all need editors

Posted by Suzy Taylor Oakley on June 26, 2008

Here’s another reason not to get rid of copy editors. Nonjournalists will probably enjoy this article more than the one below.

It’s from The Washington Post. You may have to register, but it’s free.

4 Responses to “Why wee all need editors”

  1. Tanya said

    HA HA HA! Now going back to read your entry title makes sense too! I should have known better than to read anything like that when I’m this tired, because I didn’t figure out why I was having such a hard time reading it until I got to the word “penis”!! So I didn’t even bother to go back and try to find all the errors–I knew I would be ashamed of myself. I bet you got all of ’em, huh?

  2. Love it. Love it love it love it.

  3. Peregrine said

    I hadn’t envisionded you as a Weingarten fan! That was an awesome collum, though!

  4. DJ said

    If anyone in the industry still thinks that copy editors aren’t worth their weight in news print from that column, I am living proof that having someone over our shoulder in the collaborative effort that is publishing news works best.

    I have gotten better at going at it solo because you are still figuratively over my shoulder, but I know my work was better when you were that person literally over my shoulder.

    Well, mostly it was me over your shoulder as you pointed out my all to human flaws.

Leave a Reply

 
