Suzy & Spice

a pinch of this, a dash of that

No complaints, Day 2

Posted by Suzy Taylor Oakley on May 12, 2008

Today is technically Day 2, because I started not complaining yesterday. So I have a day and a half under my belt already!

I did a pretty decent job today, but I want to ask you whether these count:

1. Observing, as I drove home from my job at 9 p.m., that the gas at the corner is 10 cents higher than it was this morning, while remembering that last week it rose 11 cents in a day. That’s a 21-cent increase in less than a week! Does making such observations count as complaining? If everyone complains about the price of gas, does it count?

2. Having the phrase “drama queen” leap to mind in reference to another person. Maybe that’s not complaining; maybe it’s judging.

We’ll work on judging next week, right after I’ve mastered the art of complaining without sounding like I’m complaining.

3 Responses to “No complaints, Day 2”

  1. jennholsted said

    Making observations isn’t complaining. I suppose it’s what you do with that observation that’s important. But c’mon, 21 cents in a week! How can you not complain about that?!?!?!

  2. millie said

    nope. it’s just an observation. like if i said….”i don’t think gas prices are going to stop climbing.” which may be more of a prediction, but you get my drift.

  3. Suzy said

    Unfortunately Days 3 and 4 didn’t go so well, although I got back on track on Day 5. And then there was *this* week…

Leave a Reply

 
