Suzy & Spice

a pinch of this, a dash of that

Just do it!

Posted by Suzy Taylor Oakley on May 11, 2008

“Do everything without complaining and arguing, so that no one can criticize you. Live clean, innocent lives as children of God, shining like bright lights in a world full of crooked and perverse people.” Philippians 2:14-15

Man, I wish I hadn’t gone to church this morning! Harold issued a challenge that was long overdue for me: Stop whining!

I don’t think he actually used the word whining, but he did quote liberally from Philippians 2, which includes the admonition not to complain, with plenty of explication on why we shouldn’t.

I even copied down Verses 13-17 (in two translations) in my composition notebook while I listened to the rest of the sermon. (Gonna pin the copied verses to my cubicle wall at my job, which is what I complain most about.) It’s funny how you can read a passage many times and be only marginally affected by it until, one day, someone makes it come alive for you. That’s what Harold did this morning when he told me the reasons I should stop complaining. It was like a poke in the eye.

Because I’ve been doing a lot of it lately.

I could philosophize for hours about the virtues of obeying these verses, but all I’m gonna do is commit the next seven days to doing it.

And I have to proclaim it publicly so that you all can hold me accountable. Another thing Harold said is that God not only brought us into relationship with Himself, he brought us into relationship with each other, even those we haven’t met. And we sang about needing each other and praying for each other.

I need you.

Because not complaining for seven whole days ain’t gonna be easy.

So, friends, if you hear me complain, shut me up. But do it gently, please.

2 Responses to “Just do it!”

  1. I love it! Can’t wait to see how it goes!

  2. dj said

    Reminds me of the Rock City, AZ “No Sniveling” ordinance—it is a real town ordinance in a small, quirky town just north of Phoenix I use to frequent back in 1992. It helps me to think of it when I complain too much. Sorry I am not able to bring daily smiles to you Suzy at work anymore to help relieve some of those moments of stress—hopefully someone has taken up some of my slack on this task.

Leave a Reply

 
