Suzy & Spice

a pinch of this, a dash of that

Yellow

Posted by Suzy Taylor Oakley on March 6, 2008

Today’s color is yellow. I have to admit, it’s not one of my favorite colors — unless it’s BRIGHT, like these mums. Although my laundry-room story will seem to contradict that…

butterfly and yellow mums

My laundry room is bright yellow, although my plan was to paint it “butter yellow.” Bruce had decided to surprise me by painting it while I was in California for a wedding. Because of a mix-up at the paint store or a miscommunication on my part (or maybe just Bruce’s not knowing what I meant by “butter yellow”), it ended up being more what I would call canary yellow. But laundry rooms should be bright, right? So it has remained “canary yellow” for nearly eight years.

Sorry there’s no picture of the laundry room. You just get the mums today. (On White day, I linked to a similar picture.)

Tomorrow’s color is brown, quite possibly my least favorite color, although there are some wonderful browns out there nowadays. Still, it might be a challenge to come up with pictures to illustrate what I like about brown.

Added 03/08/08: I found this picture on the last day in the Week of Color, so I just had to add it. It’s a rose from a 40th-anniversary cake I made last year, modeled on the couple’s wedding cake.

yellow cake rose
2 Responses to “Yellow”

  1. jerusalem said

    love the mums – especially on such a cold winter day as today! and a canary yellow laundry room? that has got to perk up the chores a little bit….

  2. […] are saying How now brown blog … on Crust-ophobic no morejerusalem on YellowYellow Suzy Spic… on Butterfly in Bloombeeps on Your money countsWhite Suzy Spice… on […]

Leave a Reply

 
