Suzy & Spice

a pinch of this, a dash of that

Birthday flowers

Posted by Suzy Taylor Oakley on November 29, 2007

birthday flowers

Yesterday was my birthday. My husband, who has been sick for several months, could not buy me a gift, but when I got home after nearly an 11-hour day at work, I discovered this little vase of flowers. What a way to refresh my tired spirit.

He found some tissue paper and drinking straws, and what more appropriate “vase” than a pill bottle? It sums up our lives for the past eight months.

He kept telling me he wanted to do more, wished he could have bought me a gift, but I told him this was the best gift I had been given in a really long time.

So I had to share this incredible gesture with you, my friends.

I love you, Bruce.

5 Responses to “Birthday flowers”

  1. beautiful, beautiful. i love it when life brings out the poet in people – who knew, Bruce! happy late birthday, Suzy…

  2. Clancy said

    Suzy….
    What a lovely gift…the best kind…simple & made with love.
    Happy birthday Suzy girl…
    Love, Sheila (I mean Clancy..)

  3. Millie said

    i love him too! what a sweet surprise! and happy very late bday to you. you deserve a special week, not just a day!

  4. Amy James said

    love it! Thanks for sharing

  5. […] at Whitney’s pink picks and remembered that I had some white pics in my previous posts: this and […]

Leave a Reply

 
